Unp header
Utah avatar new 256x256
Utah Nurse Practitioners

A Call to Action, Legislation 2013

Posted almost 5 years ago by Wendy Rusin

To all Utah Nurse Practitioners,

 After extensive research, the Utah Nurse Practitioners Board voted to support Utah Medicaid expansion because it will be beneficial to nurse practitioners and the patients we serve.. Whether or not you are personally for or against it, the current legislation (HB 391) is not the way to handle this issue.

 By now most of you know the Medicaid expansion is in serious trouble.  In an unexpected move, a bill prohibiting Utah from expanding Medicaid was passed by the House Business and Labor Committee. For details see this Salt Lake Tribune's story. This bill MUST be voted down or the Governor may feel like he can walk away from his commitment to carefully study the Medicaid expansion option.  IF THERE EVER WAS A TIME TO CALL OR EMAIL YOUR LEGISLATOR, THE TIME IS NOW.

 Talking Points (MESSAGE FOCUSES STRATEGICALLY ON THE NEED TO CAREFULLY STUDY THE EXPANSION OPTION before making any decision; IT purposely DOES NOT FOCUS ON THE GOOD CASE FOR EXPANSION)

  • Because of a delay in a important state commissioned cost-benefit analysis on the expansion, state leaders haven’t yet had a chance to see the full picture. Without the cost benefit study available, any decision on the expansion is premature.
  • The legislature is not required to act on the Medicaid expansion. The default is not expanding Medicaid. 
  • HB 391 undermines the collaborative process the Governor, stakeholders, and state leaders are putting together to deal with the issue.
  • Considering that many other Republican states went from not supporting to supporting the expansion after seeing their state studies, it’s important that your legislators keep an open mind and look at the study before making a decision.

 

Please look up your own legislators at http://le.utah.gov/GIS/findDistrict.jsp   and encourage them to NOT support HB391.  Call or email right away because the votes are happening soon!”  Call the Maybes below and then the unknowns. Please send any feedback to matt@healthpolicyproject.org.

 

Right now the vote count is neck-and-neck!

Maybes (or leaning NO or should know better)

Priority

First

Last

Dist

City

Phone

Cell Phone

Email (leg)

 

Rich

Cunningham

50

South Jordan

(801)209-7966

 801-722-4942

rcunningham@le.utah.gov

 

Brad

Dee

11

Washington   Terrace

(801)479-5495

 

bdee@le.utah.gov

 

Stewart

Barlow

17

Fruit Heights

(801)544-4708

 801-289-6699

sbarlow@le.utah.gov

 

Steve

Eliason

45

Sandy

(801)673-4748

 

seliason@le.utah.gov

 

Jim

Dunnigan

39

Taylorsville

(801)840-1800

 

jdunnigan@le.utah.gov

 

Jerry

Anderson

69

Price

(435)637-2548

 435-650-8804

janderson@le.utah.gov

 

Spencer

Cox

58

Fairview

(435)427-3678

 435-494-1269

spencer@electspencercox.com

 

Don

Ipson

75

St. George

(435)673-8216

 

dipson@le.utah.gov

 

Mike

Kennedy

27

Alpine

801-763-1376

 (801)358-2362

mkennedy@le.utah.gov

 

John

Mathis

55

Vernal

(435)789-7316

 

jmathis@le.utah.gov

 

Merrill

Nelson

68

Grantsville

(801)971-2172

 

mnelson@le.utah.gov

 

Kraig

Powell

54

Heber City

(435)654-5986

 

kraigpowell@le.utah.gov

 

Becky

Lockhart

64

Provo

(801)361-5457

 

blockhart@le.utah.gov

 

Dean

Sanpei

63

Provo

(801)372-1242

801-979-5711

dsanpei@le.utah.gov

 

Ronda

Menlove

1

Garland

(435)458-9115

 

rmenlove@le.utah.gov

 

V.

Snow

74

Santa Clara

(435)628-9110

 435-703-3688

vlsnow@le.utah.gov

 

Unknowns

 

Roger

Barrus

18

Centerville

(801)292-2266

 

rogerbarrus@le.utah.gov

Jack

Draxler

3

North Logan

(435)752-2668

 

jdraxler@le.utah.gov

Richard

Greenwood

12

Roy

(801)452-3113

 801-452-3113

rgreenwood@le.utah.gov

Craig

Hall

33

West Valley   City

 

 (801)573-1774

chall@le.utah.gov

Steve

Handy

16

Layton

(801)546-1539

 801-979-8711

stevehandy@le.utah.gov

Greg

Hughes

51

Draper

(801)541-6127

 

greghughes@le.utah.gov

Brad

Last

71

Hurricane

(435)635-7334

 

blast@le.utah.gov

David

Lifferth

2

Eagle Mountain

(801)388-9124

 801-358-9124

lifferth@le.utah.gov

Kay

McIff

70

Richfield

(435)896-4817

 

kaymciff@le.utah.gov

Val

Peterson

59

Orem

(801)224-4473

 

vpeterson@le.utah.gov

Douglas

Sagers

21

Tooele

(435)882-0931

 435-830-3485

dougsagers@le.utah.gov

Keven

Stratton

48

Orem

 

(801)836-6010

kstratton@le.utah.gov

John

Westwood

72

Cedar City

(435)586-6961

 

jwestwood@le.utah.gov

Ryan

Wilcox

7

Ogden

(801)334-7787

 801-200-5595

ryanwilcox@le.utah.gov

 

Contact me with any questions. Please take action now and help us help you.

Most sincerely,

Lee Moss, NP

801-231-7840 (C)

lee.moss@hsc.utah.edu